Five Short Poems

 

I wrote a haiku this morning, while sitting in the garden next to the rhubarb. It then occurred to me to gather together the last few haiku I’ve written into one place. Here.

Shandy Hall -mentioned in an earlier post- was the home of the writer Laurence Sterne.

The ones about birds I wrote almost exactly two years ago. Without realising it -I was just cycling past- I had almost the same thought about curlews in exactly the same place a couple of days ago on August 12th, the date I originally posted it in 2014.

 

Rhubarb Leaves

rivers running down
from curly mountaintops through
shiny green valleys

 

Shandy Hall

imaginary
footprints through the grass leading
to the next chapter

 

Three Bird Haiku

1

A constellation:
seven starlings flying in
the shape of the Plough.

2

A heron standing
very still by the river.
Is it a model?

3

The days get shorter.
You feel a chill in the air:
the curlew is gone.

 

Copyright (c) Sackerson, 2016

 

 

5 thoughts on “Five Short Poems

  1. Love these, they are all so good! The rhubarb one is particularly brilliant. It’s amazing when see things not as they are, but as what they might be.

    Cool chronological coincidence too.

  2. I think haiku is my favourite verse form.
    If it is a verse form. (I’m starting to wonder about the grammar here). Maybe they’re a type of poem. Anyway, I liked yours.

Leave a Reply

