To begin at the beginning…

Who reads the first post of a new blog? Not many people, I’m afraid. Perhaps ‘new’ is the wrong word. I’ve blogged elsewhere but, for one reason and another, felt like a new start. I intend to write about the music I listen to and the books I read. I’ll be posting poetry, too, from time to time. I also tend to write about hills I’ve climbed and the places I’ve been. In short, I’ll be writing about anything I feel like writing about.

I started blogging about six years ago. My reasons for doing it are much the same as they were then. I think that one clarifies thoughts by writing them down. Assembling one’s thoughts into sentences can be a humbling experience: what seemed like a daring, original thought in one’s own head can look pretty trite when it’s written down.

I can’t help but feel there should be music in a first post. No major event is considered complete without an all-singing-and-dancing opening ceremony these days. Well, singing, at least. The late Robert Wyatt seems like a good choice.

 

 

11 thoughts on “To begin at the beginning…

  1. You’re back! 🙂 And I get to be the first one to comment on your brand-new space. Love it. I quite like wordpress. If I had the time I would probably decamp to wordpress or livejournal. But the move would be time-consuming. Love the clip. You”re right, new space, get the music in.

    Greetings from London.

    1. Thanks for that. It wasn’t exactly time consuming – just mind-bending, working out the new ways of doing things (changing widgets, etc.) you took for granted.

  2. Congratulations on the new blog and the fresh start. It’s a bit like moving house, but once you’re settled and have unpacked, you’ll feel right at home, and all your old friends will come knocking on your door, like I am. (I should have brought a house-warming gift.)

  3. P.S. I don’t know Wyatt, but I quite enjoyed the performance. The voice is harking back to some other more familiar one, but I can’t place it. I have it on a recording somewhere. A puzzle to work out.

    1. Thanks for these comments! Wyatt is worth checking out – but I would say that, as I like him! (I would add the proviso that all his work is arguably not as approachable as his best work but that probably goes for most artists).

Leave a Reply

